As a real estate agent, broker, or Realtor, you are required to take Continuing Education (CE) courses to renew your license. While it may seem like a chore, taking CE courses can actually be a great way to learn more about the industry and hone your skills. The trick is to choose the right courses to satisfy your licensing renewal requirements. So, let’s break down the CE requirements for real estate professionals by state.
- What are the CE Requirements for My State?
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Growing Your Real Estate Business with FastExpert
What are the CE Requirements for My State?
The first step in choosing the right CE courses is to ensure you satisfy your state’s requirements. These requirements vary from state to state, but most require you to take a certain number of hours of CE courses every year or two.
Here are the current CE requirements for real estate agents by state:
The Alabama Real Estate Commission states the following:
- Post-License – 30 hours within the first six months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees. Note: There is no post license requirement for brokers.
- Subsequent Renewals – 15 clock hours of continuing education every two years on even-numbered years. The courses must consist of 12 clock hours of Commission-approved courses, with 3 hours in a Risk Management course.
The Alaska Real Estate Commission states that before a license can be renewed, real estate licensees must complete the following for maintaining continuing competency:
- Post-License – 30 hours, which is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that you will be required to complete prior to license renewal.
- Subsequent Renewals – 8-hour continuing education core curriculum that stresses current trends in real estate practices and changes in state, federal, and case law in the areas of real estate sales, property management, community association management, or commercial sales. Plus, 12 contact hours of continuing education in elective topics.
The Arizona Department of Real Estate requires 24 hours of continuing education every two years for all licensees. The hours will be split into segments of 3 hours each in Agency Law, Commissioner’s Standards, Contract Law, Disclosure, Fair Housing, and Real Estate Legal Issues; and 6 hours in General Electives.
The Arkansas Real Estate Commission states there are both post-license and continuing education requirements as follows:
- Post-License – Salespersons must complete 18 classroom hours and must be taken within 6 months after the date the individual was initially licensed. New brokers must complete the 30 classroom-hour courses within 6 months after the date the individual was initially licensed.
- Continuing Education – 7 hours of CE annually per the renewal cycle.
The California Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Real Estate requirements are for both agents and brokers renewing for the first time, as well as subsequent renewals as follows:
- Salesperson First-Time Renewal – 45 clock hours of DRE-approved continuing education consisting of 15 hours spread across 5 courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, and Risk Management; and 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses; and the remaining clock hours in either consumer service or consumer protection courses.
- Broker First-Time Renewal – 45 clock hours of DRE-approved continuing education consisting of 18 hours spread across 6 courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, Risk Management, and Management and Supervision; and 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses; and the remaining clock hours in either consumer service or consumer protection courses.
- Subsequent Renewals for Both – 45 clock hours of DRE-approved continuing education consisting of 8 hours in a single course covering the six mandatory subjects (Ethics, Agency, Fair Housing, Trust Fund Handling, Risk Management, and Management and Supervision) OR licensees can choose to take each of the mandatory subjects separately; and 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses; and the remaining clock hours in either consumer service or consumer protection courses.
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate requires the following:
- Post-Licensing – There is no continuing education for new licensees in their first year.
- Subsequent Renewals – 24 hours per three (3) year cycle. Twelve (12) of the 24 hours must be comprised of three (3) different versions of the four-hour (4) Annual Commission Update Course. The remaining twelve (12) hours can be any combination of elective credit hours approved by the Commission.
The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection requires real estate professionals to update their continuing education requirements in even-numbered years. There are two options to choose from as follows:
- Option 1 – 12 Hours of CE courses from an approved school that consists of two three-hour classes for the 2022 Mandatory CE Requirements which are CT Real Estate Law for Brokers and Salespersons; and Understanding and Preventing Racial Bias in Real Estate; and 6 hours of real estate elective courses.
- Option 2: Pass the 40-question Connecticut CE Examination during the CE cycle.
District of Columbia
The District of Columbia Real Estate Commission requires real estate salespersons and brokers to pursue 15 hours of continuing education every two years. The courses must consist of 3 hours each in Fair Housing, DC Ethics, and DC Legislative Updates; and 6 hours in General Electives.
The State of Delaware Division of Professional Regulation has different requirements depending on the length of time that a licensee has been licensed, which include:
- Post-Licensing – Within 90 days of receiving a license, licensees must complete courses of 3 hours each in Professional Standards, Agreement of Sale and Buyer Representation, Real Estate Documents and Seller Representation, and Real Estate Professionalism, for a total of 12 hours.
- First License Renewal – Must include acceptable modules, and the hours are prorated according to when the license was issued with the full hours required of 21 hours for licenses January 1st through May 1st of even years; 18 hours for licenses issued May 1st through November 1st of even years; 12 hours for licenses issued November 1st of even years through May 1st of odd years; 6 hours for licenses issued May 1st through November 1st of odd years; and zero hours for licenses issued November 1st of odd years through January 1st of even years.
- Subsequent Renewals – 21 hours of approved CE during each full licensure renewal period between May 1 and April 30 of even-numbered years.
The Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) has different requirements based on whether you hold a Real Estate Sales Associate or Real Estate Brokers license. They are as follows:
- Real Estate Sales Associate – 45 hours of post-license education for first-time renewals. 14 hours for subsequent renewals.
- Real Estate Broker – 60 hours of post-license education (you may see as two 30 hour courses-Broker Investment and Broker Management) for the first renewal. 14 hours for subsequent renewals.
The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs requires real estate professionals to complete 20 hours of approved continuing education courses for each two-year license period.
The Idaho Real Estate Commission‘s real estate professionals licensing renewal process is different depending on the length of time you’ve been licensed. They are as follows:
- First salesperson renewal – 12 hours with one 8-hour mandatory fundamentals course; and one 4-hour elective; and two different Idaho core courses.
- Subsequent renewals – 12 elective hours plus two different Idaho Commission Core courses.
The Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation requires brokers that are renewing their license to complete continuing education based on even-numbered years from when they became licensed. They are as follows:
- Brokers licensed PRIOR TO Nov. 2, 2019 – 12 hours of CE
- Brokers licensed Nov. 2, 2019 – Oct. 31, 2021 – 45-hour Broker Post-License
- Brokers licensed ON OR AFTER Nov. 1, 2021 – 45-hour Broker Post-License and 1 hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention training
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency states that brokers are required to complete the following:
- Post-Licensing – 30 hours of approved post-licensing education within the first two years of being licensed.
- Subsequent Renewals – 12 hours of CE every year from July 1st to June 30th.
The Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau requires all salespersons and all brokers to complete 36 hours of continuing education during each three-year renewal cycle with 8 hours in Law Update; and 4 hours of Ethics; and 24 hours of Electives.
The Kansas Real Estate Commission requires salespersons and brokers to complete 12 hours to renew, including at least 3 mandatory hours in an approved course titled: “Kansas Required Core.” They must finish the 12-hour continuing education requirement by their first renewal date and each subsequent two-year renewal cycle.
The Kentucky Real Estate Commission requires annual continuing education courses amounting to 6 hours of courses sponsored or approved by the Commission, of which, three (3) hours must be in courses approved for law credit. Kentucky also requires a state-specific continuing education course (the Kentucky Core Course) to be completed once every four (4) years.
The Louisiana Real Estate Commission requires salespersons and brokers to receive the following CE credits:
- Post-Licensing – A one-time requirement of 45 post-license education hours within 180 days after the initial license date.
- Subsequent Renewals – 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework, including any LREC mandatory course topic(s), each year.
The Maine Real Estate Commission requires associate brokers, brokers, and designated brokers are required to complete 21 clock hours of approved continuing education, which includes the 3 clock hour core course that is mandatory at the time of renewal.
The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation requires the following:
Salespersons and Associate Brokers
- Residential – 15 hours which includes 3 hours each in Legislative, Brokerage Relationships and Disclosure, and Ethics; and 1.5 hours in Fair Housing; and 4.5 hours in Electives.
- Commercial – 15 hours which includes 3 hours each in Legislative, MREC Agency-Commercial, and Ethics; and 6 hours in Electives.
- Residential – 15 hours which includes 3 hours each in Legislative, Brokerage Relationships and Disclosure, and Supervision; and 1.5 hours in Fair Housing; and 1.5 hours in Electives.
- Commercial – 15 hours which includes 3 hours each in Legislative, MREC Agency-Commercial, Ethics, Supervision, and Electives.
The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons requires real estate professionals to complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.
- The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs requires licensees to complete continuing education courses annually with at least 18 clock hours of CE courses that contribute to the professional management competence of a licensee; and 2 of those hours of CE involve law, rules, and court cases regarding real estate.
The Minnesota Department of Commerce requires that each salesperson and broker licensee must complete 30 hours of real estate continuing education before their June 30 license renewal deadline, and at least 15 of those hours must be completed before the previous June 30.
The Mississippi Real Estate Commission requires 16 hours of CE courses every renewal cycle of two years. These include 2 hours of both MS License Law and Contract Law; and 4 hours of Agency Law; and 8 hours of electives.
The Missouri Division of Professional Registration states that real estate licensees to complete 12 hours of real estate instruction approved for continuing education credits, with at least 3 hours of core credit courses, every two years.
The Montana Board of Realty Regulation mandates every licensee must have a minimum of 12 hours every year. Supervising brokers must complete 4 of the twelve hours in courses related specifically to supervising broker continuing education.
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requires 18 hours of continuing education for all licensees every two years, which must include, but is not limited to 3 hours each of Teamwork Building every four years; and Property Management every two years; and 6 hours of Commission-Approved Training every two years.
The Nevada Department of Business and Industry has different requirements depending on the type of license you hold. These include:
- Salesperson Post-Licensing – 30 hours, 18 of which must be live-instruction, or if a first-time licensee is exempt from post-licensing education requirements, they must complete 36 hours of CE as per subsequent renewals.
- Salesperson Subsequent Renewal – 36 hours every two years with 3 hours each of Agency, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Risk Reduction; and 6 hours of Contracts; and 18 hours of General Courses.
- Broker-Salesperson Post-Licensing & Renewals Every Two Years – 36 hours of continuing education consisting of 3 hours each of Agency, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Risk Reduction; and 6 hours each of Contracts and Broker Management; and 12 hours of General Courses.
- Broker Post-Licensing & Renewals Every Two Years – 36 hours of continuing education consisting of 3 hours each of Agency, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Risk Reduction; and 6 hours each of Contracts and Broker Management; and 12 hours of General Courses.
The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission requires 12 hours of approved elective courses and a mandatory 3 hours of core courses for a total of 15 hours every two years.
- Mandatory Courses – Agency; Disclosure Forms; Ethical Behavior; and P&S Contracts.
- Optional Courses – Advertising; Broker Agreements; Conflict and Dispute Resolution; Fair Housing; Negotiations; and New Construction.
The State of New Jersey Real Estate Commission mandates licensees have two options to fulfill CE requirements:
- Option 1 – 12 hours of continuing education with at least 6 hours in core topics so long as they include the mandatory 2 hours in ethics and 1 hour in Fair Housing & New Jersey Law Against Discrimination. The remaining 6 hours can be electives or core topics.
- Option 2 – Successful completion of one or more broker pre-licensure education courses.
The New Mexico Real Estate Commission licensing cycle is every 3 years and mandates different continuing education requirements depending on the license type:
- Associate Brokers – 36 hours which must include 12 hours total in the annual 4-hour NMREC Core Course series over the 3-year cycle; and 4 hours in Ethics Electives; and 4 hours in Core Electives.
- Qualifying Brokers – 42 hours which must include 12 hours total in the annual 4-hour NMREC Core Course series over the 3-year cycle; and 4 hours in Ethics Electives; and 8 hours in Core Electives; and 6 hours in the Qualifying Broker Refresher Course.
The New York Department of State continuing education requirements for salespersons and brokers are 22.5 hours of approved continuing education that must include at least 2 hours each of Cultural Competency and Implicit Bias; and 2.5 hours in Ethical Business Practices; and at least 1 hour of recent legal matters; and at least 3 hours in Fair Housing and/or Discrimination in the Sale or Rental of Real Property or an Interest in Real Property; and at least 1 hour in the Law of Agency except in the case of the initial two-year licensing term for real estate salespersons; and 2 hours of Agency-Related instruction; and
The North Carolina Real Estate Commission has no post-licensing first-year requirements. However, from the second year and beyond, it requires annual renewals with continuing education of at least 8 hours.
For brokers who are not BIC eligible, 4 of the required CE credit hours must be obtained by completing the General Update course, of which the curriculum will change annually. For brokers who are BIC eligible, 4 of the annual required CE credit hours must be obtained by completing the Broker-in-Charge Update (BICUP) course.
The North Dakota Real Estate Commission requires the following:
- Post-Licensing – If the 45-hour pre-licensure course was taken, the licensee must take 15 hours of post-licensure within the first year of licensing, then 9 hours annually thereafter. If the licensee took the 90-hour pre-licensure course, they must take 9 hours of CE by November 15th of the first year of licensing but do not need to take any post-licensure hours.
- Subsequent Renewals – 9 hours annually in approved courses.
The Ohio Department of Commerce mandates different requirements for salespersons and brokers as follows:
- Post-Licensing for Salespersons and Brokers – 20 hours of approved courses within the first 12 months of licensing.
- Salesperson Subsequent Renewals – Renews on the licensee’s birthday every 3 years and requires 30 hours total of CE including 9 hours in Ohio Real Estate law, recently enacted state and federal laws affecting the real estate industry, municipal, state, and federal civil rights law, and cannon of ethics for the real estate industry as adopted by the commission.
- Broker Subsequent Renewals – Renews on the licensee’s birthday every 3 years and requires 30 hours total of CE including 9 hours in Ohio Real Estate law, recently enacted state and federal laws affecting the real estate industry, municipal, state, and federal civil rights law, and cannon of ethics for the real estate industry as adopted by the commission; and 3 hours of education on the duties of a principal broker and other issues involved in operating a real estate brokerage.
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission requires different CE hours depending on the type of license as follows:
- Resident Sales Associate / Resident Broker Associate – 21 hours every three years with 1 hour in each on the topics of Broker Relationship Act; and Code and Rules; and Contracts and Forms; and Fair Housing; and Hot Topic; and Professional Conduct.
- Resident Broker – 21 hours every three years with one 15 hour in Broker in Charge course; and the remaining 6 hours in Broker Relationship Act; and Code and Rules; and Contracts and Forms; and Fair Housing; and Hot Topic; and Professional Conduct.
- Non-Resident Sales Associate / Non-Resident Broker Associate – 3 hours every three years with 1 hour in each of the Oklahoma Broker Relationship Act; and Oklahoma Code and Rules; and Oklahoma Contracts and Forms.
- Non-Resident Broker – 3 hours every three years with 1 hour in each of the Oklahoma Broker Relationship Act; and Oklahoma Code and Rules; and Oklahoma Contracts and Forms.
The State of Oregon Real Estate Agency’s continuing education requirements depend on the type of license being renewed:
- Broker & Principal Broker First-Time Renewal – 30 hours total with a 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course within the first year of licensing. If you are renewing an active license on or after 7/1/2022, this course must contain a Fair Housing component; and 27 hours in Broker Advanced Practices.
- Broker & Principal Broker Subsequent Renewals – 30 hours total within two years of a 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course. If you are renewing an active license on or after 7/1/2022, this course must contain a Fair Housing component; and 27 additional hours on the approved topics.
The Pennsylvania Department of State requires real estate professionals to complete a minimum of 14 hours of continuing education before license expiration on May 31st of every even-numbered year, with additional requirements for first-time renewals as follows:
- First-Time Renewals – An additional 14 hours are required in specific topics which include 7 hours in General topics and 7 hours in either Commercial or Residential related topics.
- Subsequent Renewals – 14 hours of CE courses with mandatory topics that may vary depending on the renewal period. For 2022, licensees are required to have 3 hours of the 14 hours dedicated to responsibilities of the broker and the responsibilities of their licensees in regard to property management, advertising, and general supervision which would include, but not be limited to, commissions and fees. First-time renewers are exempt from this course topic in the 2022-24 renewal session.
The Rhode Island Real Estate Commission renews real estate licenses every two years and requires a minimum of 24 clock hours in continuing education topics. Of these 24 hours, 9 of them must be in approved core topics, and 3 of the 9 hours must be specifically in Federal, Rhode Island, and local law pertaining to fair housing and the treatment of any individual in a protected class as designated in the Rhode Island Fair Housing Practices Act.
The South Carolina Real Estate Commission has different requirements for continuing education for license renewals based on the type of license as follows:
- Salesperson and Broker Licensees – 10 hours of continuing education with 4 hours in the mandatory/core course and the remaining 6 hours in electives.
- Broker in Charge Licensees – 10 hours of continuing education with 4 hours in the mandatory BIC Duties and Responsibilities course, 4 hours in the mandatory core course, and 2 hours of electives.
The South Dakota Real Estate Commission requires the following CE for agent and broker license renewals:
- New Broker Associates Post-Licensing – A total of 60 post-license continuing education hours, divided between the first two active license cycles; Post-license Period 1 and Post-license Period 2. Post-license Period 1 begins once a new broker associate receives their initial license, and must be completed between the current license year and the following license year. During this time a new broker associate must complete 30 hours of required continuing education. Post-license Period 2 begins on January 1st the year after a new broker associate completes Post-licensing Period 1 and must be completed within the following two license years. During this time a new broker associate must complete another 30 hours of required continuing education.
- Broker Associate/Broker Subsequent Renewals– 24 hours of continuing education during the preceding two license years. At least 12 of these hours must be in the required subject areas.
- Residential Rental Agents Subsequent Renewals – 12 hours of continuing education during the preceding two license years in the areas of property management, fair housing, lease of real property, real estate contracts, and real estate license law. Continuing education hours shall include at least one hour of the required subject area.
The Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC) requires the following CEUs for renewing a real estate license:
- Broker/Affiliate Broker Post-Licensing – An additional 120 hours of CEUs after receiving their license.
- Broker/Affiliate Broker Subsequent Renewals – Every two-year renewal period requires 16 hours of CEUs, of which 6 hours must be in approved mandated core courses. The remaining 10 hours are in electives.
The Texas Real Estate Commission has a renewal period for licensees every two years with CE credit hours as follows:
- First-Time Renewals for Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) – 270 qualifying real estate course hours, 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update I, and 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update II posted to your license record prior to submitting your renewal. Additionally, if you have been made a supervisor by your broker, you must complete the 6-hour Broker Responsibility course to renew.
- Active Sales Agents Subsequent Renewals – 18 hours of approved Continuing Education (CE) courses, including at least 8 hours of TREC Legal Update I and II, 3 hours of contract-related coursework, and 7 hours of elective CE. Additionally, if you have been made a supervisor by your broker, you must complete the 6-hour Broker Responsibility course as part of your 18 hours of CE.
The Utah Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate requires 18 hours of CE every two years for active licensees, who must complete the following:
- First-Time Renewals – A one-time 12-hour New Agent course, plus 3 hours in mandatory core courses, and 3 hours in electives.
- Subsequent Renewals – 18 CE hours, 9 hours of which must be in approved core topics, and 3 of those 9 hours must be in an approved 3-hour mandatory course.
The Vermont General Assembly Statutes require license renewals every two years on May 31st of even-numbered years, with continuing education hours as follows based on the type of license:
- Salespersons Post-Licensing – In addition to the 16 hours of required CE credits, licensees must complete 8 hours of approved post-licensing educational courses.
- Salespersons Subsequent Renewals – 16 hours every two years, 4 hours of which must be in approved mandatory core topics.
- Brokers Subsequent Renewals – 24 hours every two years, 4 hours of which must be in approved mandatory core topics.
The Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires license renewals every two years, with different educational requirements for brokers and salespersons who have renewed their license at least once before as follows:
- Salespersons – 16 hours of CE, which must include 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct; and 2 hours in Fair Housing; and 1 hour each of Legal Updates and Emerging Trends, Real Estate Agency, and Real Estate Contracts. The remaining 8 hours can be in electives.
- Brokers – 24 hours of CE which must include 6 hours in Broker Management; 2 hours each in Broker Supervision and Fair Housing; and 3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct; and 1 hour each in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends, Real Estate Agency, and Real Estate Contracts. The remaining 8 hours can be in electives.
The Washington State Department of Licensing requires license renewals every two years as follows:
- Broker First-Time Renewals – 90 hours, which must include a 30-hour Advanced Practices Course; and a 30-hour Real Estate Law Course; and a 3-hour Current Issues in Washington Residential Real Estate Course; and at least 27 hours of other approved continuing education.
- Broker/Managing Broker Subsequent Renewals – 30 hours, which must include a 3-hour Current Issues in Washington Residential Real Estate Course; and at least 27 hours of other approved continuing education. 15 of the 30 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date, and the remaining 15 hours within 48 months.
The West Virginia Real Estate Commission requires annual license renewals with at least 7 hours of continuing education each fiscal year ending on June 30th. All course hours are in electives, but licensees cannot duplicate courses within two renewal cycles of two years.
The State of Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services requires real estate brokers to renew their license every two years with 18 mandatory hours of ongoing education which must include 3 hours in each of the mandatory 6 subjects which include Wisconsin Listing Contracts; Wisconsin Offers to Purchase; Wisconsin New Development; Wisconsin Risk Reduction through Professionalism (Satisfies NAR Ethics Requirements); Wisconsin Real Estate Law and Practice; and Wisconsin Real Estate Transactions.
The Wyoming Real Estate Commission’s three-year renewal cycle includes continuing education requirements that vary depending on the type of license as follows:
- Salespersons/Associate Brokers Renewals – 45 total hours of continuing education during each three-year renewal cycle, with 21 Elective Hours and 24 Required Hours.
- Responsible Broker Renewals – 53 total hours of continuing education during each three-year renewal cycle, with 21 Elective Hours, 24 Required Hours, and 8 Wyoming Broker Management Hours.
Growing Your Real Estate Business with FastExpert
Are you a real estate professional looking to take your business to the next level? If so, you’ll want to check out FastExpert. FastExpert is a free online service that matches home buyers and sellers with top-rated real estate agents in their area.
With FastExpert, you can connect with home buyers and sellers in your area, get free leads, and grow your business. If you’re ready to take your real estate business to the next level, sign up for FastExpert today!